March 24, 2009

  • Album? Yes… but it’ll be a second or two

    My friends… you all are wonderful people, and if you’re a fan of the band you’ve probably been hearing us tell you for the last six months or so that a new album is in the works, due by what would now be about a month and a half.

    After much deliberation, The Northern has decided to break up

    JK

    BUT!!!! We are delaying the release of our album to a future date that we very intentionally do not have a release date for. We believe we have the potential to bake some really good cookies. We have all the necessary ingredients, but why throw them all together when you don’t know the right measurements of the individual ingredients? We’ve got Brown Sugar (Jon), Butter (Jason), Dough (Jim, though the last time I called him my “little dough boy” I received a black eye that didn’t go away for months), and Chocolate chips (which I guess would be me).

    The biggest issue is that for a variety of reasons, many of which involve subconscious sibling rivalry issues, we’ve tended toward too many chocolate chips. It’s like, “Welcome to the chocolate chip show! Have a little cookie!”

    Another problem we’ve had is being more focused on a career goal than an artistic one. saying things like, “Album due May 1. It’s going to be awesome!” before the album is even half-finished.

    So what we’ve decided to do is to wait. “Chew the cud” so to speak. I’m releasing my grasp on “my” concepts for the sake of this album becoming OUR art. The result will be more Jon, more Jim, more Jason. More J’s in jeneral. The Northern has been a group product from the get-go. Let no-one be deceived… but I’ve been hogging the driver’s seat and apparently I’m not the only one on this road-trip who likes to drive.

    There’s an album coming your way, but hopefully and more importantly there’s better art and a better band coming your way.
    In the meantime, come to a show. You will no doubt witness some spectacular growing pains.

    - Dave “the fewer chips” Chalk

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *